UNITED KINGDOM – Brexit Related Practical Tips for UK Nationals Traveling to European Union

Dec 24, 2019 | Global

This article discusses Brexit-related practical tips for United Kingdom (UK) nationals traveling to the European Union (EU).

The issues that UK national employees who travel to the EU as business visitors after a no-deal outcome will need to consider are:

1.Check passport validity and if necessary renew: UK nationals will be treated as third-country (non-EU) nationals and will need to have a minimum of 6 months’ validity left on their passport from the date of arrival in Schengen countries in order to be permitted entry.

2.Be aware of the maximum amount of time allowed in the Schengen area: UK nationals traveling for business (meetings, attending conferences) would not need a visa for short stays in the Schengen area but should be mindful that they will only be allowed to stay for up to 90 days in any 180-day period.

3.Keep track of days in the Schengen area for frequent travelers: Permitted time in the Schengen area from after the date of exit can be worked out using a calculator, such as https://ec.europa.eu/assets/home/visa-calculator/calculator.htm?lang=en. While intended to be used by non-EU nationals, it should be applicable to UK nationals in the event of no deal.

4.Check whether the employee’s proposed business activity is permitted: What business visitors are allowed to do can vary across the EU countries, so care should be taken to follow the relevant local rules. In some cases, work permits may be required.

5.Expect greater delays when traveling: UK nationals would not have an ongoing right to use the separate lanes provided for EU nationals.

6.Carry additional documents: When traveling to the EU, UK nationals may be asked to confirm they have:

    • Sufficient funds available for the duration of their stay
    • A return or onward ticket
    • Proof of accommodation
    • Health insurance

This article is provided by Alliance of Business Immigration Lawyers (ABIL). 


Related Posts:

MALAYSIA: Foreign Knowledge Worker Projection for 2020 Opens 20 November 2019

Effective 20 November 2019, companies that are registered with the Expatriate Services Division (ESD) can start to apply for their 2020 Foreign Knowledge Worker (FKW) projection for Employment Passes (EP) and Professional Visit Passes (PVP).

AUSTRALIA: The New Agricultural Visa

Australian Agriculture Visa – The Department of Immigration has announced that a new Labour Agreement template for the Horticulture Industry will be available from 1 January 2020.