Global Update: Belgium

Mar 10, 2021 | Global

A change in legislation, published in the Belgian Official Journal on January 26, 2020, and effective January 27, 2021, is having substantial consequences for EU/Schengen travel to Belgium. Between January 27, 2021, and March 1, 2021, all non-essential travel was forbidden for all those whose main place of residence is located abroad. The Belgian State Council recently extended the ban until April 1, 2021. This does not change the situation for travel from most third countries, which was already limited to non-essential travel. However, the EU/Schengen travel restriction was new. Third countries are defined as non-EU/non-Schengen countries. The definition of essential travel and the required formalities depend on the country of origin and/or citizenship:

Travel from a third country, other than “safe” third countries (currently Australia, South Korea, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, and Thailand), by a third country national with main residence in the third country (e.g., United States, Canada, India): An overview of essential travels is available at the website of the Belgian federal immigration office (point 2.2., An essential travel certificate, issued by the Belgian embassy/consulate with jurisdiction, will in principle be required. Before the traveler boards, the transporter must check whether an essential travel certificate is available. If not, boarding must be refused.

All other travels by non-residents (e.g., travel from an EU/Schengen country; travel from a “safe” third country (see list above); travel by an EU/Schengen country national): A sworn statement must be completed by the traveler (see The sworn statement lists all essential travels; the relevant travel purpose must be selected (see also the website of the Belgian federal immigration office—point 2.1., Before the traveler boards, the transporter must check whether a sworn statement was completed. If not, boarding must be refused. Failure to make a sworn statement or making a false, misleading, or incomplete statement may result in denial of entry.These travel restrictions have been added to other current measures, such as the requirements to complete a Public Health Passenger Locator Form (PLF), a prior negative Covid-19 test, and quarantine/isolation/testing in Belgium.


“Belgium Rejects Proposal to Suspend Non-Essential Travel Ban,”

Related Posts:

SAUDI ARABIA: Ministry of Labor Cancels Yellow Nitaqat Band

Effective 26 January 2020, the Ministry of Labor and Social Development (MLSD) has announced it will cancel the yellow band in its Saudization program, Nitaqat. Companies currently in the yellow band will be moved into the red band and will become non-compliant unless they improve their Nitaqat rating

Swiss Permit Quotas for 2021

The Swiss Federal Council has decided upon the following permit quota numbers for 2021: Work permit quotas for assignees from EU/EFTA: L permits: 3’000 B permits: 500   Work permit quotas for non-EU/EFTA nationals: L permits : 4’000 B permits : 4’500 For these categories the numbers will remain the same as they currently are […]