EU re-opens to 14 countries but continues to ban U.S. travelers

July 01, 2020


The European Union has opened its borders to 14 countries: Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, and Uruguay. On June 30, each of these countries was placed on the EU’s “safe list” after fulfilling a variety of criteria assessing covid-19 related risks. The EU is also expected to open its borders to China soon provided that China reciprocates.

Th EU’s “safe list”  is not legally binding; each individual country will decide whether or not they will follow the recommendations.  The safe list will be reviewed every 2 weeks using the European Commission’s Checklist that was published on June 11, 2020. The United States, Brazil and Russia are not included on the safe list due to continued COVID-19 related risks.

More Information

2020-07-01T15:47:08-08:00 July 1st, 2020|

WR is a world leader in global mobility using WRapid, the firm’s immigration management system Powered by Salesforce, to facilitate the movement of talent worldwide.

About the Author: